GLFW in a Google Cloud Platform VM server

Hi,

I want to use a C++ project that I adapted from github on a Google Cloud Platform Linux VM with Linux Debian 11 (bullseye) distribution installed.

The problem I am facing is that the function glfwCreateWindow () is returning NULL and my code doesn’t work.

After having this problem, I searched a lot and first I was thinking that it was a problem related with not having a X11 server.

First of all: I know that a “X11” server runs on machines that have a monitor/display. Is that right?

Secondly: do a regular google cloud platform VM has a X11 server and could use GLFW?

I am really lost about this, because I am not an expert in Linux neither have any experience with GLFW.

Thanks.

You can run X11 server without any monitor attached. X11 is needed if you want to use GLX to access OpenGL on your system. (just be sure to run real x11 server, something like Xvfb won’t work). You can always install X11 server on any cloud machine you have root access to.

If you want GPU accelerated OpenGL then you can look into using EGL over DRM to create OpenGL context. That will not require running any display server.

Here’s a pull request that adds EGL support over DRM: Add EGLDevice backend by kchandra22134 · Pull Request #786 · glfw/glfw · GitHub
Here’s a pull request that adds EGL support to render to pbuffer: EGL headless mode by christopher-hesse · Pull Request #1608 · glfw/glfw · GitHub
They are not merged to main codebase.

There is another way if your EGL supports EGL_KHR_surfaceless_context extension - that allows to create EGL context without any surface (window or pbuffer). There’s nothing for this in glfw, you would need to create patch to glfw (should be very similar to #1608 pull request).

Alternative is OSMesa that is supported already now: GLFW: Release notes
But that won’t give you accelerated GL context, it will provide software implemented OpenGL context (rendering on CPU).