Creating applications with GLFW questions

Hello

I was learning SDL, but discover GLFW and like the simplicity, nice documentation and can be linked static.

My questions are

1. Can I create application with GLFW?
    I am interest in VST and VSTi and other audio applications or my own experimentations. GLFW looks good and simple with NanoVG as GUI.

2. It is posible create window inside window and with drag outide window? - something like VisualStudio 2013 or more where I can move window and dock it or undock it in main window.

3. I am new with OpenGL. It is good learn new OpenGL and use only OpenGL2 ? Or it is better learn only OpenGL2. I don’t need complex functions like physical lightning or shadows because I want create applciation without 3d (or only very simple 3d) and need run everywhere where is OpenGL support.

1. Yes.

2. GLFW doesn’t provide creation of child windows, but if you’re rendering your UI with NanoVG then that can include rendering child windows within the single OS window.

3. OpenGL 2.x is very old at this point and only suitable if you are planning to support very old machines. OpenGL 3.3 may be a good and compatible baseline. Even integrated GPUs support OpenGL 4.x.

If you are just planning to render a simple UI then you can use whatever version, but modern OpenGL is closer to what the hardware is actually like, will provide better performance and better habits for future projects, and there are a lot of good resources for learning it.

Thanks for answers.

If I learn OpenGL 3.3, may I still use OpenGL 2? What I read on internet, i understand it with this way: when version 3 is used, it will be compatibile with version 2 or less until some functions from version 3 will be used. I am right?

I’m not sure I understand the question. If you use features from a given version of OpenGL then your program will require at least that version to run.