Shared library for Linux & MacOSX?

nobody wrote on Wednesday, November 29, 2006:

I’m currently using glfw.DLL on Win32 and it works very well.
Now I’d like to port my application to Linux and MacOSX with shared library.
Is there any way to build shared library version for Linux and MacOSX?
Has anyone ever done this before?
I have limited experienced in Linux/MacOSX.
Any assistance would be much appreciated.

elmindreda wrote on Wednesday, November 29, 2006:

The upcoming 2.6 branch (which is in CVS) has support for building shared libraries on Linux and Mac OS X, but why would you want to? GLFW is very suitable for static linking and especially for Linux, static linking makes both the distribution and the running of your application much simpler.

nobody wrote on Thursday, November 30, 2006:

Thanks for the fast reply.
I’m wondering when 2.6 RC or beta would be officially announced?
I’ll definitely check out CVS code first.

I need shared library version because I program in C#/Mono.NET and GLFW via Tao framework binding.
It must be a dynamic/shared library to be able to use P/Invoke for C/C++ code.
Otherwise, I have to create a stub DLL which is statically linked with GLFW and then do P/Invoke with that stub DLL.

elmindreda wrote on Thursday, November 30, 2006:

I’m not sure when a beta will be out. I do know that I’m busy with lectures until the 8th of December, but am longing to get back to work on GLFW as soon as they’re done.

Note that the code is still under the BRANCH_2_6 branch.

Ah, I see. That’s a good reason to use it ^^

nobody wrote on Friday, December 01, 2006:

I signed up the dev and user mailing list to see if I could help something.
So glad that GLFW is back and ongoing.
Thanks for your devotion sincerely! :slight_smile:

elmindreda wrote on Friday, December 01, 2006:

Cool. Welcome! Note that I’ll be away for another week, though.

nobody wrote on Sunday, December 03, 2006: