[Linux] How compile basic example with GLFW 3.2.1?

Hi, I’m new to GLFW and plan to write some code including Vulkan. I’m using Linux Mint 18.1 as OS. In standard repository there is only version 3.1.2 (why not current version? is there a repository which contains it?).
For some sample code:
https://vulkan-tutorial.com/code/base_code.cpp
I need at least version 3.2. GLFW_NO_API, GLFW_FALSE and Vulkan support introduced there. If I exchange those constants with numbers, I can compile it with:
g++ ./main.cpp -lglfw -std=c++11

For further examples I need version 3.2 or higher, so I downloaded http://www.glfw.org/download.html and did cmake. Without known errors, I can run all programs in folder tests (including vulkan) and examples.

But how can I build the example code from above? In the downloaded and cmaked GLFW folder there are some header files but can’t find any libraries. Do I need to build them first? Where? How?. Which folder need to be included? How can I install it at the system?
What would be the correct way to compile the example?
g++ ./main.cpp -lglfw3 -std=c++11 -L??? -l?? -I??

At http://www.glfw.org/docs/latest/compile_guide.html#compile_compile there is some section “Compiling the library” but don’t know what to do with “Go ahead and compile the actual GLFW library with these files,”. (Also could not figure out to run cmake GUI. Havn’t used cmake that often.)

Thanks for reading

Hi, first off this will be a short reply as I’m v.busy today.

The version installed with Linux Mint is the version Linux Mint installs, the GLFW team have no control over that.

If you can run the tests and examples it looks like you’ve been able to build glfw with cmake, so have a compiled library of the most recent version.

For building applications with GLFW see the build guide, which is different from the compiling GLFW guide.