Inset titlebar like in Electron

Hey guys, I trying to build a cross-platform desktop app using GLFW, OpenGL and C++. Previously I used Electron. In Electron, there is an option to remove the titlebar but keep the native window buttons (the close, minimize, restore buttons). I want to do the same thing in GLFW but I couldn’t find any resources. I’m not that experienced in C++ so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks :slight_smile:

Hi @anantrng,

This option doesn’t exist in GLFW, so you’d have to user the GLFW native access API and modify the Window styling yourself on those systems which support this.

I don’t know how to achieve this myself, but if you search through the electron code you can probably work out how they do it for the hidden titleBarstyle:

Cheers,

Doug.

Thx man! I’ll definitely check it out although I may take some time because I’m relatively new to C++. :slight_smile:

Hey, I checked out what you said but I couldn’t find anything useful in the Electron repo. There probably is something, but I can’t seem to find it. May have to disable the titlebar and create my own. Thx anyway :slight_smile:

I am not entirely sure, but my assumption for Flutter and Electron is that they simply have a non-title bar window and fully recreate the title bar look with UI widgets/components, which allows them to have things displayed in the title bar or the title bar removed completely with only the minimize, maximize, and close buttons visible. But I don’t know for sure and could be totally wrong on this.

However, this is an approach that could work for GLFW.

Well, maybe not with built-in GLFW window hints. I was thinking you could remove the title bar by setting GLFW_DECORATED to false, but that would make the window non-resizable it seems.