GLFW not showing window under Wayland or X11 on NixOS

Hi Community,

This is my first time posting here. I’ve just starting learning GLFW via this tutorial. However, after initially setting up a very basic project the window would not show up at all under Wayland. I’m using a flake-based project on NixOS.

Relevant part of my flake.nix - this basically pulls in all the build dependencies:

nativeBuildInputs = with pkgs; [
            # Development Tools
            llvm.lldb
            cmake
            cmakeCurses
            boost
            glfw-wayland

clang-tools
            llvm.clang
          ];

My root level CMakeLists.txt which mentions glfw:

set(GLFW_USE_WAYLAND ON)
find_package(glfw3 REQUIRED)

My src level CMakeLists.txt:

find_package(glfw3 REQUIRED)
add_executable(App)
target_sources(App PRIVATE main.cpp)
target_link_libraries(App glfw)

My main.cpp:

#include <GLFW/glfw3.h>
#include <iostream>

int main() {
  // Any call to GLFW must happen between its initialization and termination
  if (!glfwInit()) {
    std::cerr << "Could NOT initialize GLFW!" << std::endl;
    return 1;
  }

GLFWwindow *window = glfwCreateWindow(640, 480, "WebGPU for C++", NULL, NULL);
  if (!window) {
    std::cerr << "Could NOT open window!" << std::endl;
    glfwTerminate();
    return 1;
  }
  std::cout << "window:" << window << std::endl;

glfwMakeContextCurrent(window);

while (!glfwWindowShouldClose(window)) {
    glfwPollEvents();
  }

glfwTerminate();
}

The project built successfully but when I ran the executable it just got stuck there forever (because of the while loop) and no window showed up at all. It printed the window pointer so I assume it at least successfully initialized.