GLFW/glfw3.h: No such file or directory, g++, Mate 18.1

Hi,
I’m new to GLFW and wan’t to try some example code but I can’t compile any. My example c++ code has #include <GLFW/glfw3.h>. I try to compile it with g++ ./test.cpp -lglfw. If i do so, i get the error:
GLFW/glfw3.h: No such file or directory
Already search with google but didn’t found anything what worked for me. Using Linux Mate 18.1.

I installed (sudo apt-get install) libglfw2, 3, 3-dev, 3-doc, -dev,
also libglfw-dev libglm-dev libglew1.13 build-essential libevent-pthreads-2.0.5 doxygen xorg-dev libglu1-mesa-dev
(i know its not the newest version of GLFW but I would like to start working with this)

Any idea what I need to do? Need to add some Path? where it is located? filesearch take ages…and find nothing

Thanks

On Linux the header files should normally be in /usr/include/GLFW, but the compile error suggests that they are not there. Older versions of glfw were stored in /usr/include/GL instead, in which case your include line needs to be changed to #include <GL/glfw.h>.

Another possibility is /usr/local/include/GLFW, but that is unlikely if you installed through a package manager rather than manually.

If you have locate installed, try searching for them with locate glfw3.h in your shell of choice.

1 Like

Thanks!
i had nothing in /GLFW but in /GL. There as you noted only glfw.h.
I tried locate (also thanks for that hint) without any result for glfw3.h. So I installed again. After this I have glfw3.h in /GLFW but nothing in /GL anymore. It seems it removes newer version if you install older. and older if you install newer.

Ok, now it can find the header. But I get some different errors like:

error: ‘GLFW_NO_API’ was not declared in this scope
glfwWindowHint(GLFW_CLIENT_API, GLFW_NO_API)

and locate glfw3.h hast still no output

GLFW_NO_API was introduced in version 3.2: http://www.glfw.org/changelog.html

Do you have at least version 3.2?