Constantly loading, white GLFW window

Hi, I’m relatively new to graphics programming, in fact I’m coming from a Java and algorithms background, but I’m using GLFW and GLEW to create one of many university projects. After maybe 3/4 days of Visual Studio 2015 giving me problems like I’ve never dreamed I finally got the program to compile, I can paste the basic code here if you want, although it’s little more than creating a basic window and initialising (initializing to my American friends) both APIs. When the program launches, the application immediately ends, there are no errors and nothing crashes (at least not in the way a normal Windows app does). To combat this, I’ve placed a getchar() statement before the end of main, like I was taught to, although this feels weird to me, and if this is the problem and it’s my fault I’ll delete this post.

The GLFW window, when open once the program hits the getchar(), is white (I can provide pictures if you want), which is weird because online tutorials have it as a light/white border with a black main component (although on mine the border AND the main window are both white), and I cannot interact, click, move or close the window in any way. If I hover over, the cursor changes to the loading icon and obviously I can’t see any graphics on the window at all. What and where have I messed up?

Hi,

Does your program have an event loop at all? It sounds as though glfw is successfully creating the window for you, but then you are doing nothing with it. At minimum you should have a loop something like this:

Edit: Fixed typo

while (!glfwWindowShouldClose(window)) {
    glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);
    glfwSwapBuffers(window);
    glfwWaitEvents();
}

The getchar trick just forces MSVC to keep the program running where it would otherwise end, and should have no effect on the rest of the program. Are you calling glfwTerminate anywhere? You should see the glfw window disappear before you get to the getchar.